whiteflowersandelephants


The Fruits Begin
August 1, 2012, 10:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

One morning, I sat in the courting room of the Beulah house, waiting for Jesus. I was on the green couch, looking out the window, and listening. I was asking Him about how to be a good follower. Is discipleship doing everything? Like sharing the gospel loudly in public places every day? Is it worshipping in a dark room all night long? Is it going to Uzbekistan for the gospel? I realized I needed Him to define the goal of discipleship for me, because I was under a lot of pressure from human definitions of Christian success. What He told me was good news.

He said that He was proud of me. That He accepts me, right now. I don’t need to work harder, or do more. I don’t need to rack up Christian points, like this is 1st grade. I am done. I am accepted, approved of, beloved.

And then He said, but I am AMBITIOUS for you.

The Lord has ambitions for me. The same as parents love their children, but are ambitious for them to grow and accomplish things. Children don’t lose the love of their parents if they never progress. But the parents know that if the child doesn’t progress, he is hurting himself, and he is robbed of all the hope and possibility that young lives hold.

He knows there is more for me, and I can grow for my benefit, and for the church’s benefit. He doesn’t need me to do more. He did it all on the cross. But He is ambitious for me to grow.

He told me that He is ambitious for me to lay hold of the fruits of the Spirit. Growing up to embody those qualities is life-long discipleship. I opened my Bible to refresh myself. If these are the important things for me to grow into, better look at them.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23

I read that, and told Him, “I don’t know what this means.”

He said, “I’ll tell you.”

What followed was more than an hour on that couch of Him explaining the fruits of the Spirit. And none of what He said was intuitive, or what I previously thought. I got so excited, and felt like picking up my phone and calling so many people to tell them what He was saying! He told me to chill out and keep writing; that what He was telling me was for everyone.

I’ve kind of been sitting on this since May, because there are a stinking lot of fruits to cover. I could just type up exactly what He said that day, but that’s not nearly fun enough. Probably better to write a series of blogs. I’m not going to go in order. Be warned.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

