whiteflowersandelephants


The sweetest smile
May 24, 2011, 3:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Every morning, the little girl got up, made herself a smoothie, smiled at the dawn, and went to the secret place where she would steal away and sit in her Father’s hand.

Every morning she would ask Him, “What do you think, Daddy?” And most mornings He was thinking the same thing. “I’m thinking about how much I love you.” It never failed; every time the little girl heard Him say that she would smile and smile. And her smile was enough to warm her Father’s heart and make Him laugh with joy. His laughter would turn into hers, and she would sing and talk and dance and wonder as they sat together in the secret hide-away. That is how the little girl began her days during her great adventure.

….

While the little girl was in the earth, she saw many things. She saw flowers and trees and stars. She heard songs, and poems. She saw paintings and dances. She met many people, and some of them knew her Father! Some of her happiest moments were spent sharing the Father’s love with new brothers and sisters.

But the little girl saw other things, as well. She saw poverty, and addiction. She saw destruction and fatherlessness. She met people who had no idea about the Father, and she saw how that ignorance turned to wickedness. She met people who were so plagued with insecurity that they acquired the look of meanness, and couldn’t interpret kindness when they encountered it. All these things confused her and broke her heart. When people missed the Father, so many bad things happened.

She would sit with her brothers and sisters and mourn all those who were so lost.

The little girl went away and asked her Father, “What must be done, Daddy? So many of these people have missed you!”

He did not answer.

She waited longer.

He told her to listen.

She turned off the music and the lights. She stopped her anxious thoughts. She waited.

“I have seen these things, Beloved. I have heard the cry of the lost, I will not leave them. That is why I have sent My Son, and you and all your brothers and sisters. You all are the answer to these sad things. You are the answer, because I am in you. You bear My name, and I have placed my love in you. You are the answer, because I am the answer.”

A solemn silence followed. The little girl felt the weight of responsibility for the first time. She realized her importance, and her insignificance. She was alive for them!

“What do you love, little girl?”

“You Father!”

“What do you love about me?”

“I love how you adopted me, and called me Yours! I love how you loved me. I can hardly remember who I was before You found me. I love that You are my Father, and that I am Your daughter.”

“I love that, too, sweetheart. In fact, that is My favorite thing. I love adoption. You see, there is no father in the world, there is only the father of lies. I love to welcome a lonely and lost child into My family.”

She remembered when He had found her. She remembered her brokenness, her loneliness, her ugliness. She remembered how she had fought Him, and how He had held her close with sweetness, even as she cursed Him.  She remembered the hot tears when she finally dove into His arms. She remembered how He held her, how He never let her go. She remembered how she sat in His hand, and all the happiness she had been given.

“You know, I think no one else understands My love the same way that you do, little girl. Would you display this love to all the lost ones?”

“How can I do that, Daddy?”

“The same way I do! Welcome the lost little ones into your family, our family. Show them how to find me. They are so lost they cannot do it by themselves! Be a mother to children that are not your own the way that I am a Father to you.”

She was stunned.

She thought about all the things she enjoyed most about living. She thought about all of her favorite things, and her favorite memories. And she realized that they all pointed to the same conclusion. God, the Father, had made her specifically to be a mother of the motherless. To tangibly display the great love of the Father, by plucking children out of the pit, and loving them with all the joy and abundance of heaven. To restore and redeem what the father of lies had stolen, to proclaim the goodness of the One who reigns over all things.

She saw that her brothers and sisters also had missions to reach the earth. Some were going to far off places, and some were doing dangerous things. Some would lose their lives, and some would be famous. Some would raise the dead, and translate the Father’s love into tribal languages.

She smiled in her heart, the deepest and sweetest smile she had ever smiled. They were all made perfectly for the journey set before them. He is the Father who sees. He knew her great delight, and He showed her how to serve Him with it.

When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”

   “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”

   Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

 Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

   He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”

   Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

   Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.”

   Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.”

She smiled in her heart, the deepest and sweetest smile she had ever smiled. She said, “Ok Daddy.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love your blog! I specially loved this one! GOD loves you and you are so wonderful and deeply loved by GOD and many more people including me. Thank you for sharing your heart and for writing such great blogs. GOD is using you for HIS glory. I love you! 🙂 ❤ GOD bless you!

Comment by Zaira Rodriguez




Leave a Reply

